I distinguish between Germans old enough to have played a role in the war, and the post-war generation.” Interview with David Toren (2016–17)

 

 

Aufnahme und Schätzung aller Kunstgegenstände, Antiquitäten, Gemälde, echter Teppiche etc. im Hause Ahornallee 27 zu Breslau 18. Besitzer: David Israel Friedmann wohnhaft daselbst. Zum Zeitwert. (Inventory and assessment of all works of art, antiques, paintings, real carpets, etc. at the premises Ahornallee 27 in Breslau 18. Owner: David Israel Friedmann, resident at said address. At current market value.), inventory (1940) from the file Administration Wrocław I/16886, Archiwum Państwowe we Wrocławiu, Wrocław, Poland

 

Letter from Cornelius Müller Hofstede to Hildebrand Gurlitt, August 28, 1942, MNWr., GD, II/206, k. 12, Gabinet Dokumentów, Muzeum Narodowe we Wrocławiu, Wrocław, Poland

 

Christian Thee, Artfelt Gesture, Two Riders on a Beach (2014), Relief, acrylic foam, and acrylic paint on Masonite, Collection David Toren, Esquire

 

Text and interview with David Toren by Maria Eichhorn

Translation from German by Büro LS Anderson

 

 

The David Friedmann Inventory, Breslau

 

David Toren, born 1925 in Breslau, is a former patent lawyer based in New York. His parents were murdered at the Auschwitz extermination camp. Toren was brought to Sweden in a “Kindertransport” (children’s transport) and lived in Israel until he moved to the USA in 1954. The interview between Maria Eichhorn and David Toren was carried out by e-mail between May 2016 and April 2017. The interview focused on a list of objects, “Aufnahme und Schätzung aller Kunstgegenstände, Antiquitäten, Gemälde, echter Teppiche etc. im Hause Ahornallee 27 zu Breslau 18. Besitzer: David Israel Friedmann wohnhaft daselbst. Zum Zeitwert.” (Inventory and assessment of all works of art, antiques, paintings, real carpets, etc., at the premises Ahornallee 27 in Breslau 18. Owner: David Israel Friedmann, resident at said address. At current market value.), provided to Maria Eichhorn by Toren. This ten-page document is the catalog of the entire inventory of the residence of David Friedmann—Toren’s great-uncle—in the city of Breslau, then in the German province of Silesia, now the city of Wrocław in present-day Poland. The inventory not only includes everyday items, such as watches, vases, and teapots, but also works of art by Camille Pissarro, Lovis Corinth, and Gustave Courbet. On page six of the document, there is an entry for the painting Zwei Reiter am Strand (Two Riders on the Beach, 1901)—listed here as Reiter am Meere(Riders at the Sea)—by Max Liebermann. The list was prepared on January 24, 1940, “by order of the District President of Breslau.” Cornelius Müller Hofstede, in his capacity as executive director of the Silesian Museum of Fine Arts in Breslau, was informed of the inventory list; on June 28, 1941, he noted by hand on the first page: “Returned to Senior Official Westram with thanks, after noting the listed paintings.”

 

In March 1941, David Friedmann was forced to vacate his house. He died in February 1942. His daughter Charlotte was deported to Ravensbrück concentration camp on March 30, 1942 and was sent to Auschwitz in October 1942, where she was murdered on October 9. The entire estate of Charlotte and David Friedmann was confiscated by the Regional Financial Office of Lower Silesia, the authority responsible for “Aryanization.”

 

On May 12, 1942, Müller Hofstede offered to sell two works by Max Liebermann previously owned by Friedmann to the art dealer Hildebrand Gurlitt: Korbflechter (Basket Weavers, 1900) and Two Riders on the Beach. Following an auction in July 1942, both works ended up in the possession of the Silesian Museum of Fine Arts in Breslau. On August 28, 1942, Müller Hofstede reiterated his offer of sale to Gurlitt.

 

In 1945, Two Riders on the Beach, along with a portion of Gurlitt’s collection, was confiscated by the Allies and stored at the Wiesbaden Central Collecting Point. In 1950, it was returned to Gurlitt on the basis of false testimony. The painting was exhibited on several occasions as part of the Gurlitt collection during the 1950s. In 2012, it was confiscated by the Bavarian authorities in Munich, following the discovery of what became known variously as the “Munich Art Hoard” or the “Schwabing Art Trove.” In 2014, the governmental taskforce set up to investigate the “Schwabing Art Trove” classified the picture as Nazi-looted art. The following year, it was returned to David Toren, Friedmann’s great-nephew, and subsequently auctioned at Sotheby’s in London.

 

In 2014, the artist Christian Thee made a relief based on Liebermann’s painting (Artfelt Gesture, Two Riders on the Beach) and gave it to Toren, who had gone blind in old age, so that he could experience the picture by touch.

 

David Toren and the Rose Valland Institute are actively seeking artworks and other objects from David Friedmann’s list. Toren is offering a reward if a work is successfully returned. Please send any information to kontakt@rosevallandinstitut.org.

 

 

I distinguish between Germans old enough to have played a role in the war, and the post-war generation.” Interview with David Toren

 

Maria Eichhorn: In a recent interview you said: “I have a suspicion that Cornelius Müller Hofstede’s family has some of these paintings.”1 Do you know which paintings these are?

 

David Toren: No! I have no idea. I only know that Cornelius Müller Hofstede received many paintings from the Gestapo, which the Gestapo had stolen from my uncle. Müller Hofstede sold two of these paintings to Hildebrand Gurlitt.

 

ME: You went on to say: “For example, there is a letter from him [Müller Hofstede] to Hildebrand Gurlitt, in which he offers to sell him two works by Max Liebermann.”2 Do you have this letter? If you do, could you send it to me?

 

DT: The letter is attached in the e-mail.

 

ME: You then continue: “After the war, instead of being sent to jail, he [Müller Hofstede] got another good job, as director of the Gemäldegalerie in West Berlin. I suspect that he took certain paintings with him when he fled Breslau, and these may be in the possession of his heirs. I don’t understand it.”3 Have you already tried to research the identity and whereabouts of these paintings? Do you know anything more about them? How could we go about locating them?

 

DT: I think the best solution would be to go to his daughter’s house and study what’s on the walls. Otherwise, I have no suggestions.

 

ME: You were a patent lawyer and you often traveled on business to Germany from the 1960s onwards. You say in another interview: “But there is still a particular atmosphere in this country, which has never gone away.”4 Could you describe that atmosphere in more detail?

 

DT: I had many encounters with German lawyers, especially those old enough to have played a part in the war. I see no reason why I should tell you all this in detail. Between 1960 and 2005, I traveled to Germany twenty-eight times. I had over 250 German clients, mostly other patent lawyers, but also a few direct clients, large companies with their own patent departments. Why do you want to know all this? I suggest you read Catherine Hickley’s book, The Munich Art Hoard: Hitler’s Dealer and His Secret Legacy (2015). The first chapter mainly describes my background.

 

ME: Adam Szymczyk has invited me to take part in documenta 14 in Athens and Kassel, and I am conducting research for my artistic work, which addresses questions of unlawful possession of art looted by the Nazis. Taking my exhibitions Restitutionspolitik / Politics of Restitution (2003) at the Lenbachhaus in Munich and In den Zelten ... (2015) at the Haus der Kulturen der Welt in Berlin as starting points, my work for documenta 14 addresses ownership and property relations, with reference to still-unreturned property stolen from Jewish owners under the Nazi regime between 1933 and 1945. This includes artworks, land, real estate, financial assets, companies, movable property, ideas and academic work, patents, etc.5

    My work consists of founding an institute dedicated to these issues, which will actively attempt to clarify these kinds of questions of ownership. My question about you describing a “certain atmosphere in this country, which has never gone away,” is based on my sense that you mean an atmosphere of concealment, of hiding, of secrecy. Am I right in thinking that? Where does this atmosphere come from? Concealment and secrecy still hinder the discovery of artworks and other items belonging to the heirs of Jewish collectors.

 

DT: I distinguish between Germans old enough to have played a role in the war, and the post-war generation, who merely learned something about the Nazis in school.

    To answer your specific question, I will tell you about my first negative experience with an old German. On my first visit to Germany after the war, around 1960, I visited the patent lawyer of a large chemical firm in the Ruhr area. The man was quite old and courteous, but I noticed he was not particularly enthusiastic about my visit. He told me he had been in Dresden when the famous RAF air raid destroyed half the city (see Kurt Vonnegut, Slaughterhouse-Five, 1969). The next morning, he said, there were around 40,000 bodies in the city, which were then loaded onto rail trucks to be taken to a town quite nearby, Auschwitz, where there were crematoria, and where the bodies were then cremated. “And then,” he said, “they claim that all the Jews were burned there.” 

    In response I told him, as far as I knew, there were very few railway cars available at the end of the war, and, the question is where would they have gotten the two or three hundred railway cars that they would need to transport 40,000 corpses? The later generation of Germans would not tell that kind of story. 

    By the way, the patent lawyer was also a thief, because when he said goodbye to me, he gave me a list of postage stamps which he had identified by catalog numbers and which I was supposed to buy for him in New York. “Some of these stamps are quite expensive, but I’m sure you know of a way. Just add them to your fee: I’m the one who authorizes the invoices anyway.” This gentleman never received a single stamp from me, and he died of a heart attack a month later.

 

ME: During Nazi rule, the Germans not only stole land, real estate, artworks, financial assets, home furnishings, etc., but they also took patents from Jewish researchers and scientists. As a patent lawyer, did you work on any cases like that? If so, could you name some?

 

DT: No.

 

ME: You mentioned Müller Hofstede’s letter to Hildebrand Gurlitt, in which he offers to sell him two works by Max Liebermann. You kindly sent me a copy of the letter. I would like to include the original in the exhibition. Do you know in which archive the original is located and where we might borrow it for the exhibition? Do you have any other documents connected with your great-uncle’s collection, which we could exhibit along with the interview and the relief?

 

DT: I have no idea where the original of Müller Hofstede’s letter is. However, you could add the following to the interview:

    I have discovered that the Berlin auction house Villa Grisebach is in the habit of selling art looted by the Nazis and that in fact the Berlin public prosecutor has made inquiries into this matter. My fifth column (a WWII-phrase, referring to spies) discovered that the auction house had sold Liebermann’s painting Basket Weavers for 130,000 German marks in 2000. They refused to tell me the names of the sellers and buyers. I discovered that the seller was Hildebrand Gurlitt’s daughter, and the buyer was an Israeli. The Israeli newspaper Haaretz published two articles about the case, hoping that the buyer would reveal his identity. He did so indirectly: I was contacted by an Israeli lawyer who represented the buyer. We are currently negotiating the conditions under which the painting will be returned to me. Villa Grisebach also sold a painting by Franz Skarbina that was included on the inventory of my uncle’s collection. I don’t know anything about the seller or the buyer. There is an ongoing lawsuit against Villa Grisebach, a so-called “request for information” lawsuit. I am demanding a court order forcing Villa Grisebach to disclose the names of both seller and buyer to me. I am not only suing the parent company in Berlin but also their New York office, which makes it easier for me to proceed with the case, which is still ongoing.

    In addition, we also discovered that a painting by Walter Leistikow is hanging in a museum in a Polish city whose name I can’t pronounce: Before the war it was called Bromberg. The Polish museum told me that they acquired the painting from a “trustworthy source.” The fact is that the painting was originally held by an art museum or gallery in Mannheim. I am attaching a letter from the Kunsthalle Mannheim, which you may be interested in.

    I am in the process of discovering the names of Gestapo officials in Breslau in 1941, the year when my uncle’s collection was confiscated. In this context, I am sending you a copy of a letter from Dr. Sabine Dumschat of the German Federal Archive in Berlin, in which she informs me about which organizations may have the information I am looking for. I will continue to pursue this issue, but I have no further substantive information as yet. In addition, I am sending you a link to an article on two exhibitions, one in Bonn and one in Bern, which may also be of interest. 

    P.S. You could also write to Ulrike Knöfel at the magazine Der Spiegel. She may know where to find the original letter by Müller Hofstede.

 

ME: Thank you for the postscript to our interview, and for the letters. Do let me know if you locate the list of Gestapo members. Of course, that would be a list of potential looters (with heirs possibly still in possession of artworks belonging to your great-uncle). The list would be an interesting addition to the inventory list and this interview.

 

DT: As of last week, we are in possession of fifty-three pages with the names of a total of 242 Gestapo members in Breslau. However, I have also signed a number of forms, which could be interpreted to mean that I cannot pass on these pages to third parties. If you are interested in these names, I suggest you get in touch directly with the Bundesarchiv (Federal Archive) in Ludwigsburg.

 

The painting Basket Weavers, no. 252 in the inventory, is already in Washington. We signed a contract with the lawyer of the buyer which releases the work. We still do not know the name of the buyer. 

 

 

1 “‘Die Suche geht weiter’: Interview mit David Toren von Amelia Wischnewski,” Art: Das Kunstmagazin, March 2016, 63–65.

2 Ibid.

3 Ibid. 

4 Maximilian Hofmann and Susanne Lenz-Gleißner: “David Toren: ‘Ich will mein Erbe zurück,’” Deutsche Welle, April 1, 2014, www.dw.com/de/david-toren-ich-will-mein-erbe- zurück/a-17533678.

5 Title 18 (“Monuments, Fine Arts, and Archives”) of the Military Government Regulations, issued in August 1945 by US Forces, European Theater USFET, states that all objects acquired by the Germans within Germany or in occupied territories after January 1933, regardless of whatever considerations may have been involved, were to be regarded as looted art if obtained either a) directly through confiscation, expropriation, or plundering, or b) indirectly through purchase or other transactions. All cultural assets that the Nazis acquired were regarded without exception as stolen, regardless of whether or not contracts of sale had been concluded.

Ich unterscheide zwischen Deutschen, die alt genug sind, um eine Rolle im Krieg gespielt zu haben, und der Nachkriegs-

generation“. Interview mit David Toren (2016–17)

 

 

Aufnahme und Schätzung aller Kunstgegenstände, Antiquitäten, Gemälde, echter Teppiche etc. im Hause Ahornallee 27 zu Breslau 18. Besitzer: David Israel Friedmann wohnhaft daselbst. Zum Zeitwert., Inventarliste (1940) aus der Mappe Regierung Breslau I/16886, Archiwum Państwowe we Wrocławiu (Staatsarchiv, Wrocław, Polen)

 

Brief von Cornelius Müller Hofstede an Hildebrand Gurlitt, 28. August 1942, MNWr., GD, II/206, k. 12, Gabinet Dokumentów, Muzeum Narodowe we Wrocławiu (Dokumentensammlung, Nationalmuseum, Wrocław, Polen)

 

Christian Thee, Artfelt Gesture, Two Riders on a Beach (2014), Relief, Acrylschaum und Acryl auf Hartfaser, Sammlung David Toren, Esquire

 

Text und Interview mit David Toren von Maria Eichhorn

Übersetzung aus dem Deutschen vom Büro LS Anderson

 

 

Inventarliste David Friedmann, Breslau

 

David Toren, ein in New York ansässiger ehemaliger Patentanwalt, wurde 1925 in Breslau geboren. Seine Eltern wurden im Vernichtungslager Auschwitz ermordet. Toren gelangte 1939 in einem „Kindertransport“ nach Schweden und lebte bis 1954 in Israel, bevor er in die USA zog. Das Interview zwischen Maria Eichhorn und David Toren wurde im Zeitraum von Mai 2016 bis April 2017 per E-Mail geführt. Den Anlass bildete die Liste „Aufnahme und Schätzung aller Kunstgegenstände, Antiquitäten, Gemälde, echter Teppiche etc. im Hause Ahornallee 27 zu Breslau 18. Besitzer: David Israel Friedmann wohnhaft daselbst. Zum Zeitwert.“, die Toren Maria Eichhorn zur Verfügung gestellt hatte. Das zehnseitige Dokument ist das Verzeichnis des gesamten Inventars des Wohnhauses von David Friedmann – Torens Großonkel – in Breslau (Wrocław) in Polen. Erfasst sind Alltagsgegenstände wie Uhren, Vasen und Teekannen, aber auch Kunstwerke von Camille Pissarro, Lovis Corinth und Gustave Courbet. Auf der sechsten Seite des Dokuments ist das Bild Zwei Reiter am Strand (1901) – hier unter dem Titel Reiter am Meere – von Max Liebermann registriert. Die Liste wurde am 24. Januar 1940 „im Auftrage: des Herrn Regierungspräsidenten in Breslau“ angefertigt. Cornelius Müller Hofstede in seiner Funktion als Leitender Direktor des Schlesischen Museums für bildende Künste in Breslau erhielt davon Kenntnis; am 28. Juni 1941 vermerkte er auf der ersten Seite der Liste handschriftlich: „Herrn Oberregierungsrat Westram, nach Abschrift der Gemälde dieser Liste mit bestem Dank zurückgereicht.“

 

Im März 1941 wurde David Friedmann gezwungen, sein Haus zu räumen. Er starb im Februar 1942. Seine Tochter Charlotte wurde am 30. März 1942 in das Konzentrationslager Ravensbrück und im Oktober 1942 nach Auschwitz deportiert, wo sie am 9. Oktober ermordet wurde. Das gesamte Vermögen von Charlotte und David Friedmann wurde von der Oberfinanzdirektion Niederschlesiens, der für die „Arisierung“ zuständigen Behörde, eingezogen.

 

Am 12. Mai 1942 bot Müller Hofstede dem Kunsthändler Hildebrand Gurlitt zwei Werke von Max Liebermann aus dem Besitz von Friedmann zum Kauf an: Korbflechter (1900) und Zwei Reiter am Strand. Im Juli 1942 gelangten beide Werke nach einer Versteigerung in den Besitz des Schlesischen Museums für bildende Künste in Breslau. Am 28. August 1942 wiederholte Müller Hofstede gegenüber Gurlitt sein Verkaufsangebot.

 

1945 wurde Zwei Reiter am Strand mit Teilen der Sammlung Hildebrand Gurlitts von den Alliierten beschlagnahmt und im Wiesbaden Central Collecting Point verwahrt. 1950 wurde es aufgrund falscher Zeugenaussagen an Gurlitt zurückgegeben. In den 1950er Jahren wurde das Bild mehrmals als Teil der Gurlitt-Sammlung in Ausstellungen gezeigt. 2012 wurde es als Teil des „Schwabinger Kunstfunds“ von bayrischen Behörden in München beschlagnahmt. 2014 stufte die Taskforce „Schwabinger Kunstfund“ das Bild als NS-Raubkunst ein. 2015 wurde es an David Toren, den Großneffen Friedmanns, restituiert und anschließend vom Auktionshaus Sotheby’s in London versteigert.

 

Der Künstler Christian Thee fertigte 2014 ein Relief von Liebermanns Gemälde an (Artfelt Gesture, Two Riders on the Beach) und schenkte es dem in hohem Alter erblindeten Toren, damit dieser das Bild ertasten kann.

 

David Toren und das Rose Valland Institut suchen aktiv nach Kunstwerken und anderen Gegenständen aus David Friedmanns Liste. Bei einer erfolgreichen Restitution setzt Toren eine Belohnung aus. Informationen können an kontakt@rosevallandinstitut.org geschickt werden.

 

 

Ich unterscheide zwischen Deutschen, die alt genug sind, um eine Rolle im Krieg gespielt zu haben, und der Nachkriegsgeneration.“ Interview mit David Toren

 

Maria Eichhorn: In einem Interview sagen Sie: „Ich habe den Verdacht, dass die Familie von Cornelius Müller Hofstede einige dieser Bilder hat.“1 Wissen Sie, um welche Bilder es sich dabei handelt?

 

David Toren: Nein! Ich habe keine Ahnung. Ich weiß nur, dass Cornelius Müller Hofstede von der Gestapo viele Bilder erhalten hat, die die Gestapo von meinem Onkel gestohlen hatte. Zwei dieser Bilder verkaufte Müller Hofstede an Hildebrand Gurlitt.

 

ME: Weiter sagen Sie: „Es gibt zum Beispiel einen Brief von ihm [Müller Hofstede] an Hildebrand Gurlitt, in dem er ihm zwei Max-Liebermann-Werke zum Verkauf anbietet.“2 Haben Sie diesen Brief? Falls ja, könnten Sie mir diesen Brief senden?

 

DT: Der Brief liegt der E-Mail bei.

 

ME: Weiter führen Sie aus: „Nach dem Krieg hat er [Müller Hofstede] wieder einen guten Job als Direktor der Gemäldegalerie in Westberlin bekommen, anstatt ins Gefängnis zu gehen. Ich habe den Verdacht, dass er bestimmt einige Bilder mitgenommen hat, als er aus Breslau geflohen ist, die sich heute noch im Besitz seiner Erben befinden könnten. Das verstehe ich nicht.“3 Haben Sie bereits versucht, diese Bilder zu recherchieren? Wissen Sie noch mehr dazu? Wie könnten wir vorgehen, um diese Bilder zu finden?

 

DT: Ich glaube, die beste Lösung für Ihre Frage ist, in das Haus der Tochter zu gehen und die Wände zu studieren. Sonst habe ich keine Vorschläge.

 

ME: Sie waren Anwalt für Patentrecht und seit den 1960er Jahren oft beruflich in Deutschland. Sie sagen in einem weiteren Interview: „Aber es gibt immer noch diese bestimmte Atmosphäre in diesem Land, die nicht verschwunden ist.“4 Könnten Sie das näher beschreiben?

 

DT: Ich habe viele Erlebnisse mit deutschen Anwälten gehabt, insbesondere mit solchen, die alt genug waren, eine Rolle im Krieg gespielt zu haben. Ich sehe keinen Grund, warum ich Ihnen diese Erlebnisse in Einzelheiten erzählen soll. Ich war zwischen 1960 und 2005 28 Mal in Deutschland und hatte über 250 deutsche Klienten, wovon die meisten deutschen Patentanwälte waren, aber auch einige direkte Klienten, das heißt Großfirmen, die ihre eigenen Patentabteilungen haben. Warum wollen Sie das alles wissen? Ich schlage vor, dass Sie das Buch von Catherine Hickley lesen, The Munich Art Hoard. Hitler’s Dealer and his Secret Legacy (2015). Das erste Kapitel beschreibt hauptsächlich meinen Hintergrund.

 

ME: Adam Szymczyk hat mich zur documenta 14 in Athen und Kassel eingeladen und ich recherchiere in diesem Zusammenhang für meine künstlerische Arbeit, in der es um Fragen des unrechtmäßigen Besitzes von NS-Raubgut geht. Ausgehend von meinen Ausstellungen Restitutionspolitik / Politics of Restitution (2003) im Lenbachhaus München und In den Zelten ... (2015) im Haus der Kulturen der Welt in Berlin thematisiert meine Arbeit für die documenta 14 Fragen des Besitzstandes, der Eigentumsverhältnisse anhand von Kunstwerken, Grundstücken, Immobilien, Vermögenswerten, Unternehmen, beweglichen Gegenständen, Ideen und wissenschaftlichen Arbeiten, Patenten, etc., die in der NS-Zeit zwischen 1933 und 1945 jüdischen Eigentümer_innen gestohlen und bis heute nicht zurückgegeben wurden.5

    Meine Arbeit besteht darin, ein Institut zu gründen, das sich diesem Themenkomplex widmet und sich aktiv mit der Klärung solcher Besitzverhältnisse befasst. Meine Frage nach der „bestimmten Atmosphäre in diesem Land, die nicht verschwunden ist“, gründet auf meiner Vermutung, dass Sie damit die Atmosphäre des Verschweigens, des Versteckens, des Verheimlichens meinen. Sehe ich das richtig? Woher rührt diese Atmosphäre? Dieses Verschweigen und Verstecken verhindert nach wie vor das Auffinden von Kunstwerken und anderen Objekten, die den Erb_innen jüdischer Sammler_innen gehören.

 

DT: Ihre Vermutung ist nicht richtig. Ich unterscheide zwischen Deutschen, die alt genug sind, um eine Rolle im Krieg gespielt zu haben, und der Nachkriegsgeneration, die über die Nazis nur so ein bisschen in der Schule gelernt hat. 

    Um Sie zufrieden zu stellen, werde ich Ihnen mein erstes negatives Erlebnis mit einem alten Deutschen erzählen. Bei meinem ersten Besuch in Deutschland nach dem Krieg, das war ungefähr 1960, besuchte ich den Patentanwalt einer größeren chemischen Firma im Ruhrgebiet. Der Mann war ziemlich alt und höflich, aber ich merkte, dass er von meinem Besuch nicht sehr begeistert war. Er erzählte mir, dass er in Dresden war, als der berühmte Luftangriff der Engländer die halbe Stadt zerstörte (siehe Kurt Vonnegut, Schlachthof 5 oder Der Kinderkreuzzug, 1969). Am nächsten Morgen, sagte er, lagen circa 40.000 Leichen auf den Straßen, die alle auf Eisenbahnwagen geladen wurden, um sie in eine Stadt zu fahren, die nicht sehr weit weg war, nämlich Auschwitz, wo es Krematorien gab, wo die Leichen kremiert wurden. „Und dann sagt man, dass dort alle Juden verbrannt worden sind.“ 

    Meine Antwort war, dass, sowie mir bekannt ist, am Ende des Krieges wenig Eisenbahnwagen verfügbar waren und die Frage ist, von wo man die zweihundert oder dreihundert Wagen herbekam, die notwendig sind, um 40.000 Leichen zu transportieren. So eine Geschichte würde die neue Generation von Deutschen nicht erzählen. 

    Übrigens war der Patentanwalt auch ein Dieb, denn als ich mich verabschiedete, gab er mir eine Liste von Briefmarken, die ich in New York für ihn kaufen sollte und die durch Katalognummern identifiziert waren. „Einige dieser Marken sind recht teuer, aber Sie wissen sicher, wie man sowas macht. Sie können sie einfach auf die Rechnung setzen, die ich sowieso gutheißen muss.“ Der gute Herr hat nie eine Briefmarke von mir bekommen und starb einen Monat später an einem Herzanfall.

 

ME: Während der NS-Zeit raubten die Deutschen nicht nur Grundstücke, Immobilien, Kunstwerke, Vermögenswerte, Wohnungseinrichtungen etc., sondern auch Patente von jüdischen Forscher_innen und Wissenschaftler_innen. Haben Sie als Anwalt für Patentrecht auch solche Fälle bearbeitet? Falls ja, könnten Sie einige nennen?

 

DT: Nein.

 

ME: Sie erwähnten den Brief von Müller Hofstede an Hildebrand Gurlitt, in dem er ihm zwei Max-Liebermann-Werke zum Verkauf anbietet. Sie haben mir freundlicherweise eine Kopie des Briefes geschickt. Diesen würde ich gerne im Original ausstellen. Wissen Sie, in welchem Archiv er sich befindet und wo wir ihn für die Ausstellung ausleihen können? Haben Sie weitere Dokumente im Zusammenhang mit der Sammlung Ihres Großonkels, die wir zusammen mit dem Interview und dem Reliefbild ausstellen könnten?

 

DT: Ich habe keine Ahnung, wo das Original des Briefes von Müller Hofstede ist. Sie könnten das Interview jedoch mit folgendem ergänzen: 

    Ich habe herausgefunden, dass das deutsche Auktionshaus Villa Grisebach in Berlin die Angewohnheit hat, NS-Raubkunst zu verkaufen und dass die Berliner Staatsanwaltschaft in der Tat auch Nachforschungen angestellt hat. Meine Fünfte Kolonne (dies ist ein Ausdruck aus dem Zweiten Weltkrieg, der sich auf Spione bezieht) hat herausgefunden, dass das Auktionshaus das Max-Liebermann-Gemälde Korbflechter im Jahr 2000 für 130.000 DM versteigert hat. Sie weigern sich, mir zu sagen, wer die Verkäufer und wer die Käufer waren. Ich habe herausgefunden, dass die Verkäuferin die Tochter von Hildebrand Gurlitt und dass der Käufer ein Israeli war. Die israelische Zeitung Haaretz hat zwei Artikel über diesen Fall veröffentlicht – in der Hoffnung, dass der Käufer seine Identität preisgibt. Er hat das auch indirekt getan, da ich von einem israelischen Anwalt kontaktiert wurde, der den Käufer vertritt. Wir verhandeln zur Zeit die Bedingungen der Rückgabe des Gemäldes an mich. Die Villa Grisebach hat außerdem ein Gemälde von Franz Skarbina verkauft, das ebenfalls auf der Inventarliste der Sammlung meines Onkels war. Ich weiß nichts über die Verkäufer oder Käufer. Es gibt eine laufende Klage gegen die Villa Grisebach, eine sogenannte Informationsklage. Ich fordere, dass das Gericht anordnet, dass die Villa Grisebach mir die Namen der Verkäufer und Käufer nennen muss. Die Klage läuft nicht nur gegen die Berliner Firma, sondern auch gegen ihre Filiale in New York City, was es mir einfacher macht, fortzufahren. Der Fall läuft noch. 

    Wir haben außerdem herausgefunden, dass ein Gemälde von Walter Leistikow in einem Museum in einer polnischen Stadt hängt, deren Namen ich nicht aussprechen kann, die vor dem Krieg jedoch Bromberg hieß. Das polnische Museum hat mir mitgeteilt, dass sie das Gemälde von einer „vertrauenswürdigen Quelle“ erworben haben. Tatsache ist, dass das Gemälde zunächst in einem Kunstmuseum oder einer Kunstgalerie in Mannheim war. Ich hänge hier einen Brief der Mannheimer Kunsthalle an, der Sie interessieren könnte. 

    Ich bin im Begriff, die Namen der Mitglieder der Gestapo in Breslau 1941 herauszufinden, in dem Jahr, in dem die Kunstsammlung meines Onkels beschlagnahmt wurde. In diesem Zusammenhang schicke ich Ihnen eine Kopie eines Briefes aus den Bundesarchiven in Berlin von Dr. Sabine Dumschat, in dem sie mir schreibt, welche Organisationen die Informationen haben könnten, die ich suche. Ich werde diese Sache weiterverfolgen, habe jedoch noch keine positive Rückmeldung. Ich schicke Ihnen außerdem einen Link zu einem Artikel über zwei Ausstellungen in Bonn und Bern, der Sie auch interessieren könnte. 

    P.S. Sie könnten an Ulrike Knöfel beim Spiegel schreiben: Sie weiß vielleicht, wo der originale Müller-Hofstede-Brief ist.

 

ME: Danke für den Nachtrag zu unserem Interview und die Briefe. Lassen Sie mich wissen, wenn Sie die Liste der Gestapo-Mitglieder finden. Hier handelt es sich natürlich um mögliche Plünderer (und ihre Erben könnten immer noch im Besitz von Kunstwerken Ihres Großonkels sein). Die Liste wäre ein interessanter Zusatz zu der Inventarliste und unserem Interview.

 

DT: Seit letzter Woche sind wir im Besitz von 53 Seiten mit insgesamt 242 Namen von Mitgliedern der Gestapo in Breslau. Ich habe aber eine Reihe von Formularen unterschrieben, die so ausgelegt werden können, dass ich die Seiten nicht weiterleiten darf. Ich schlage daher vor, dass Sie, falls Sie an den Namen interessiert sind, diese direkt im Bundesarchiv in Ludwigsburg bestellen.

 

Das Gemälde Korbflechter, Nr. 252 in der Inventarliste, ist schon in Washington. Wir haben mit dem Anwalt des Käufers einen Vertrag zur Freigabe des Bildes unterschrieben. Wir kennen den Namen des Käufers noch immer nicht.

 

 

1 „‚Die Suche geht weiter’. Interview mit David Toren von Amelia Wischnewski“, in: Art. Das Kunstmagazin, März 2016, S. 63–65.

2 Ebd.

3 Ebd. 

4 Maximilian Hofmann und Susanne Lenz-Gleißner: „David Toren: ‚Ich will mein Erbe zurück’“, Deutsche Welle, 1. April 2014, www.dw.com/de/david-toren-ich-will-mein-erbe- zurück/a-17533678. 

5 Der Paragraph 18 („Monuments, Fine Arts, and Archives“) der Military Government Regulations, seit August 1945 von den US Forces, European Theater USFET erlassen, besagt, dass alle nach Januar 1933 von den Deutschen in Deutschland oder den besetzten Gebieten angeeigneten Objekte, unabhängig davon, welche Umstände damit einhergingen, als Raubkunst zu betrachten seien, wenn sie entweder a) unmittelbar durch Beschlagnahme, Enteignung oder Plünderung angeeignet wurden oder b) indirekt durch Kauf oder andere Transaktionen. Alle Kulturgüter, die sich die Nazis angeeignet hatten, wurden ausnahmslos als gestohlen erachtet, unabhängig davon, ob Kaufverträge geschlossen worden waren oder nicht.